search
top

Odd Things From The Sporting World.

One of the things we love about sports is that just when you think you have seen it all, you see something new.

For example, you have this practice swing hitting the golf ball by Zach Johnson at the Masters Golf tournament on Friday:

There was no penalty for this, but you have to love the reaction of Johnson and the other golfers. “What the heck just happened?”

Just when you think you’ve seen it all……

And then there is baseball.

A few days ago Cal Poly was playing Fresno State.

With the bases loaded and no one out, the Cal Poly batter hit a ball down to the third baseman who steps on third for one out. He turns and fires to the second baseman standing on the bag for the second out. The second baseman throws to first for the attempted triple play by throws wide of the bag.

The first baseman scampers after the ball and when he retrieves it, notices a runner heading toward the plate. He fires a bullet to the plate where the runner is tagged and called out by the home plate umpire.

A TRIPLE PLAY!

Happy Happy! Joy Joy!

There is much celebration from the Fresno State team.

There’s a problem however. The runner that was tagged and called out at the plate originally started the play at second base. He was the runner that was forced out at third base for the first out of the play.

Baseball rules can be confusing, but there is nothing in the rule book that allows for player to be called out twice in the same play.

So while there is confusion, the other Cal Poly runners (including the runner from first who was forced out at second, and most importantly the batter / runner) continue running the bases with the batter / runner scoring.

Never seen anything like this.

The umpires realize that something is amiss and after a five minute conference decided to put the batter / runner back on second base, call runners from second and first out, and score the runner from third.

If you are wondering why the runners were allowed to continue to run the bases even after they were called out because of the “running bases after being put out to cause confusion” rule, both the NCAA and Major League Baseball have similar stances on that in their rule books:

NCAA Rule 5-3.Note 1: “If the batter or runner continues to advance after being put out, that act alone shall not be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders.”

Major League Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(5) Comment: “If the batter or a runner continues to advance or returns or attempts to return to his last legally touched base after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders.”

Just when you think you have seen it all……

EDITOR’S NOTE: We didn’t feel like doing a political post today so we went with this as a way to break up the monotony. Have a great rest of the weekend.



Leave a Reply

top